Mohamed Salah wins African Player of the year

Mohammad Salah

Egypt and Liverpool star Mohamed Salah has been named  African Player of the Year for 2017, at the awards ceremony in Accra.

Salah as the favorite takes home the award for the first time ever, ahead of Gabon’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, and Sadio Mane of Senegal.

On the 11th of December 2017 Salah was adjudged the best BBC African footballer of the year at year 25.

READ ALSO: It’s Official: Acoustic the Phenomenon quits Nhyira Fm

Salah, now have 23 goals in the Premier League 8 assists after playing 29 matches for Liverpool.

Salah scored 5 goals, and gave 2 assists to make it seven of the goals that took the Pharaohs to their first World Cup since 1990, including the stoppage-time penalty against Congo that qualified them for Russia.

In early 2017, the forward was the central figure for Egypt as they finished runners-up at the Africa Cup of Nations.

Salah’s form at club level as been every bit as impressive as it has in internationals.

In Italy, he scored 15 goals and made 11 others as he helped Roma finish second in Serie A, their best league placing in seven years, prior to joining Liverpool and scoring 13 times in his first 16 league games.

Salah has taken the Premier League by storm this season, in contrast to a less impressive spell in the division with Chelsea between 2014-15.

By winning the African Player of the year prize Salah adds his name to a list of legends including Riyad Mahrez in 2016, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang in 2015, Yaya Touré in 2014 and Samuel Eto’o in 2010.

Check the African eleven

XI; Mathlouthi (Tunisia), Maaloul (Tunisia), Baily ( Ivory Coast), Fathy (Egypt), Bencharki (Morocco), El Ahmandi (Morocco), Ounajem (Morocco), Ajayi (Nigeria), Boutaib (Morocco), Khenissi (Tunisia), Salah (Egypt).

Other winners are;

Sunday Ibrahim  wins the Legend’s award.

• South Africa U20 wins women’s national team of the year.

• Ahmed Yahya of Mauritania wins Leader of the year.

• Wydad Casablanca wins club of the year.

• Egypt coach Hector Cuper wins coach of the year.

• Paston Daka (Zambia) wins Youth player of the year.

• Egypt wins national team of the year.

• Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria) wins women player of the year.
• H.E Nana Akufo-Addo & HE George Weah wins platinum awards

Nigerian songstress Tiwa Savage performed at the CAF Awards Night but surprisingly no Ghanaian artist performed at the event which was held in Accra Ghana raising a lot of questions on social media.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: